Oberon Public | Persistence, excellence and hard work recognised

ACHIEVERS: Oberon Public School's Nadev De Silva and Jael Henby were named Dux for 2018.

ACHIEVERS: Oberon Public School's Nadev De Silva and Jael Henby were named Dux for 2018.

OBERON Public School held its annual presentation night recently to recognise the achievements of the school community over the past year.

Students in all year groups were presented with awards from their classroom teachers for academic excellence, citizenship and consistent effort.

Special awards were also presented for achievement in key learning areas, leadership, citizenship and sporting achievements by special guests from the wider community.


Principal Bronwyn Ingersole spoke about the 2018 successes, the strategic directions the school is taking in 2019 and announced her retirement. 

Dan Cove, president of the Oberon Public School P and C, thanked the P and C for its fundraising efforts and support of the school throughout the year. 

Special Award recipients for 2018 were Jael Henby and Nadev De Silva, Dux; Boyd Corby, Outstanding School Leadership; Zijad Muratovic, Outstanding School Leadership; Isabella Cove, Outstanding School Leadership; Indiana Boss-Walker, Outstanding School Leadership; Maegan Weatherstone, Outstanding School Citizenship; Nadev De Silva, Excellence in English; Jael Henby, Excellence in Mathematics; Jeremy Ami, Excellence in Mathematics; Jacob Ryan, Excellence in Science and Technology; Indiana Boss-Walker, Excellence in History and Geography; Maree Curnuck, Excellence in P.D., Health and P.E; Isabella Cove, Excellence in Creative and Practical Arts; Salanieta Rounds, Excellence in Creative and Practical Arts; Maree Curnuck, Commitment to Learning; Zijad Muratovic, Commitment to Learning; Brandon Eiler, Library Award; Isabella Cove, Public Speaking; Brock Fitzpatrick, Helpful Attitude to School; Leah Cole, Friendship and Service; Ricco Alogi-Hine, Application and Effort; Caelan Levanic, Service Award; Lachlan Maclure, Fair Play and Sportsmanship; Ben Kelly, Fair Play and Sportsmanship; Salanieta Rounds, Friendship and Sportsmanship; Maegan Weatherstone, Persistence and Reliability; Brandon Eiler, Award for Improvement; Mihiteria Jolley, Award for Encouragement; Nate Barker, Improvement and Encouragement; Jasmine Oliver, Improvement and Encouragement; Kyle Sheppard, Improvement and Encouragement; Jasmine Oliver, Oberon High School Scholarship; Ricco Alogi-Hine, Oberon High School Scholarship; Riley Oliver, Premier’s Sporting Challenge; and Maddison Rusten, Sports Champion.