Fine wait for 4434 who did not vote in the state election

MORE than 4000 people across the Bathurst electorate, which includes Oberon, can expect a "please explain" from the NSW Electoral Commission after failing to vote at the March 23 state election.

There were 56,841 electors enrolled to vote across the Bathurst electorate, but only 52,407 ballot papers were issued.

The 4434 people who did not vote are likely to receive a $55 fine in the mail from the NSW Electoral Commission and will have 28 days to respond if they want to contest it.

Meanwhile, the Nationals' Paul Toole has been formally endorsed as the Member for Bathurst following the final distribution of preferences last Thursday.


Mr Toole's new portfolio is Regional Roads and Transport Minister.

Mr Toole completed the count with 67.9 per cent of the two-candidate preferred vote, increasing his margin by two percentage points over the 2015 result.

The final distribution of preferences showed Keep Sydney Open's Tim Hansen was the first of the six candidates to be excluded from the counting, followed by Michael Begg (Sustainable Australia) and The Greens' David Harvey.