Kathy Sajowitz out in front as counting continues in Oberon Council election

OUT IN FRONT: Incumbent Oberon mayor Kathy Sajowitz.
OUT IN FRONT: Incumbent Oberon mayor Kathy Sajowitz.

NSW Electoral Commission staff are continuing to count pre-poll votes to determine the make-up of the new Oberon Council.

With 1645 formal votes counted so far, incumbent mayor Kathy Sajowitz is leading the way with 315 primary votes to her name.

Ms Sajowitz polled most strongly at the Oberon High booth – by far the biggest booth on polling day - picking up 271 of the 1230 primary votes cast (22 per cent).

Mick McKechnie (241), Andrew McKibbin (205) and Kerry Gibbons (194) also look assured of a spot on the new council.

Mr McKibbin won both the O’Connell and Black Springs booths.

About 1000 Oberon residents voted at pre-poll centres in Oberon and Bathurst in the two weeks leading up to polling days and those results will have a major impact on the final make-up of the new council.